The “Merry Christmas” Drama

So it’s that time of year.  A time for endless Christmas songs at Starbucks, Christmas sales and the ubiquitous overblown drama over saying “Merry Christmas” vs. “Happy Holidays”.

Just now, someone said “Merry Christmas” to me.  I’m not a Christian, nor have I ever been.I did not feel offended, upset, impinged upon or marginalized.  Rather, I felt happy.   I smiled and said “Merry Christmas” right back.

When people say “Merry Christmas” to me, I take it as them wishing me well in a manner meaningful to them, or at least in keeping with a particular time of year.  It’s irrelevant that this particular sentiment is tied to a religion I do not practice.

Nor do I feel upset when a government official says this.  People have religions and there’s a difference between forcing a religion down one’s throat and freely admitting that one is of a particular faith.  I see no reason why any public figure should hide his or her religious faith.  Public prayer is one thing; simply saying “Merry Christmas” to someone is another.

Perhaps this drama is cooked up by the media in an attempt to create news.  Even if true, repeat it enough times and people may believe it, so it’s an issue.

Hopefully, no one reading this suffers at the thought that someone might say “Merry Christmas” to them.  If they do, just remember; they’re wishing you well, not holding a gun to your head and forcing you to convert.

10 thoughts on “The “Merry Christmas” Drama

  1. Good to see you back, BIAR; is this a return to regular blogging, may I ask? Anyway, I agree; let’s not worry too much about whatever seasonal salutations come our way, after all, political correctness died this year, and no one seems too bothered by the fact.

  2. I second Hariod that it’s good to see you back BIAR!

    I don’t even think of Christmas as a religious holiday. In truth, I never have. Oh, I learned the Jesus birthday stuff when I was young, but for me it was always more about holidays and exchanging gifts. And as I’ve learned more of the history of Winter solstice celebrations, it became clear to me it was one that Christianity had co-opted anyway.

    It’s a holiday in the darkest part of winter to cheer us up. People who get upset by “Merry Christmas”, “Happy Holidays” or any other holiday greeting, seriously need to find something better to do with their time.

Leave a Reply

